(1) Does the state require everyone to report child abuse, including sex abuse? No. Mandatory reporters are “public or private official[s]” who believe a child has been abused or that a person they know is an abuser. Those officials must report. “Officials” include both paid individuals and volunteers under Oregon law. The definition of who is an “official” is quite broad; many types of people are included.
(2) Does the law require coaches to report child abuse? Yes. Paid coaches who work for schools, colleges, universities, or private organizations are definitely required to report. Oregon law defines an “official” as “a coach, assistant coach or trainer of an amateur, semiprofessional or professional athlete, if compensated and if the athlete is a child.” It is less clear whether a volunteer coach is a mandatory reporter due to the compensation requirement. Though the definition of a “coach” explicitly requires compensation, other requirements of the reporting law apply regardless of whether an individual is a “volunteer.” It is likely that a volunteer coach could be prosecuted for failing to report abuse, though the law could be more clear.
(3) Does the law require college staff to report child abuse? Yes. Oregon law explicitly defines an “official” as a “school employee.” School employees include employees “of a higher education institution.”
(4) Does the law allow jail time for those who fail to properly report abuse? No. The penalty for failing to report is a Class A Violation punishable by up to a $2,000 fine.
Notes: A prosecution for failing to report must commence within 18 months of the failure to report.
Go back to our full analysis here.
Have a tip we should know? [email protected]