Here Are The Mandatory Reporting Laws In Hawaii

Hawaii

(1) Does the state require everyone to report child abuse, including sex abuse?  No.

(2) Does the law require coaches to report child abuse? Yes, if they are employees. The law requires “employees of any public or private agency providing recreational or sports activities” to report suspected abuse.

(3) Does the law require college staff to report child abuse? Not explicitly, but college staff could fall under several other categories of mandatory reporters under the statute. Therefore, many college employees likely carry a duty to report.

(4) Does the law allow jail time for those who fail to properly report abuse? Yes; the penalty is a petty misdemeanor, which his punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a $1,000 fine.

Note:  The statute explicitly states that the legislature did not intend to create a path for civil liability against an individual who fails to report.

Go back to our full analysis here.

Aaron Keller is an attorney licensed in two states. He holds a juris doctor degree from the University of New Hampshire School of Law and a broadcast journalism degree from Syracuse University. During law school, he completed legal residencies in the Office of the New Hampshire Attorney General and in a local prosecutor’s office. He was employed as a summer associate in the New Hampshire Department of Safety, which manages the state police, and further served as a summer law clerk for a New York trial judge. Before law school, Keller worked for television stations in New York and in the Midwest, mostly as an evening news anchor and investigative reporter. His original reporting on the Wisconsin murder of Teresa Halbach was years later featured in the Netflix film "Making A Murderer."

  1. Mediaite
  2. The Mary Sue
  3. RunwayRiot
  4. Law & Crime
  5. Gossip Cop
  6. AmboTV