Here Are The Mandatory Reporting Laws In West Virginia | Law & Crime

Here Are The Mandatory Reporting Laws In West Virginia

West Virginia

(1) Does the state require everyone to report child abuse, including sex abuse?  No, but the definition of mandatory reporters is broad.

(2) Does the law require coaches to report child abuse? Yes. Anyone who is an “employee, coach or volunteer of an entity that provides organized activities for children” must report.

(3) Does the law require college staff to report child abuse? Likely, yes. Anyone who is an “employee, coach or volunteer of an entity that provides organized activities for children” must report.

(4) Does the law allow jail time for those who fail to properly report abuse? Yes; the penalty is a misdemeanor, and the punishment is 90 days in jail and up to a $5,000 fine for abuse. The penalty is up to six months in jail and a $10,000 fine if the abuse was sexual in nature.

Notes:  The penalties may be levied against individuals or institutions.

Go back to our full analysis here.

  1. Mediaite
  2. The Mary Sue
  3. RunwayRiot
  4. Law & Crime
  5. Gossip Cop
  6. AmboTV