Watch Our Live Network Now

Here Are The Mandatory Reporting Laws In Vermont

Vermont

(1) Does the state require everyone to report child abuse, including sex abuse?  No.

(2) Does the law require coaches to report child abuse? Not explicitly; however, coaches are required to report if employed by a school district.

(3) Does the law require college staff to report child abuse? Arguably, no. Local school employees are required to report, but the language in the statute does not appear to be broad enough to cover college staff.

(4) Does the law allow jail time for those who fail to properly report abuse? Yes, in select cases. A failure to report carries a fine of up to $500. A failure to report with the intent to cover up abuse carries a jail sentence of up to six months and a fine of up to $1,000. The mandatory reporting law also explicitly allows prosecutions under other sections of state criminal law.

Notes:  The law does contain provisions which would appear to capture a coach and/or a higher education staff member as a “person responsible for a child’s welfare.” However, a “person responsible for a child’s welfare” is not included among the list of mandatory reporters.

Go back to our full analysis here.

Have a tip we should know? [email protected]

Filed Under:

Follow Law&Crime:

Aaron Keller holds a juris doctor degree from the University of New Hampshire School of Law and a broadcast journalism degree from Syracuse University.  He is the anchor and executive producer of The Daily Debrief on the Law&Crime Network.  The broadcast is a recap of the day's most compelling trials and court proceedings.  DISCLAIMER:  This website is for general informational purposes only.  You should not rely on it for legal advice.  Reading this site or interacting with the author via this site does not create an attorney-client relationship.  This website is not a substitute for the advice of an attorney.  Speak to a competent lawyer in your jurisdiction for legal advice and representation relevant to your situation.