Watch Our Live Network Now

Here Are The Mandatory Reporting Laws In Ohio

Ohio

(1) Does the state require everyone to report child abuse, including sex abuse?  No.

(2) Does the law require coaches to report child abuse? Not explicitly. School employees are required to report, so coaches employed by schools are mandatory reporters. Coaches who do not serve as school employees appear not to be required to report.

(3) Does the law require college staff to report child abuse? Not explicitly. Arguably, college employees fall outside the definition of a “school employee.” Ohio law hinges its mandatory reporting requirements largely on whether or not the person required to report holds a state license. College staff are usually not licensed by state boards of education.

(4) Does the law allow jail time for those who fail to properly report abuse? Yes; the penalty is a 4th Degree Misdemeanor (punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a $250 fine) or a 1st Degree Misdemeanor (punishable by up to 180 days in jail and a $1,000 fine) depending on the severity and type of abuse suffered by the victim.

Go back to our full analysis here.

Have a tip we should know? [email protected]

Filed Under:

Follow Law&Crime:

Aaron Keller holds a juris doctor degree from the University of New Hampshire School of Law and a broadcast journalism degree from Syracuse University.  He is the anchor and executive producer of Law&Crime Daily on the Law&Crime Network.  The broadcast is a recap of the day's most compelling trials and court proceedings.  He also serves as an editor for the Law&Crime website. DISCLAIMER:  This website is for general informational purposes only.  You should not rely on it for legal advice.  Reading this site or interacting with the author via this site does not create an attorney-client relationship.  This website is not a substitute for the advice of an attorney.  Speak to a competent lawyer in your jurisdiction for legal advice and representation relevant to your situation.